Joy for the Journey no. 1

Joy for the Journey no. 1

 

Day 19 Joys:

  • Tonight I made it to the patio to write. I seemed to have made friends with a 3 year old Spanish speaking girl. We both light up when we see each other but have been too shy to totally play. I think my strange Spanish must be confusing her. Tonight I asked her if I could ride her motor cycle. “You are too Big! You won’t fit!” Then she drove off.  Within a minute she came back to let me have a turn! “Tu turno!” your turn! “Suigame!” Follow me! I got a work out on the patio as we chased each other over the tiny road. I’ve seen her almost every day we’ve made it to the Child Life Room and wondered why she was always there looking perfectly healthy. Tonight I found out her 2 month old baby is here in the NICU. Please keep them in your prayers.
  • God fed me lunch and dinner without me even asking! Thank you, Elaine and Lacy!

Day 18 Joys:

  • His name came up this weekend! That’s a good sign! He is getting closer though they did not get to choose that heart for Ian.  Still, we must be patient and trust that if it wasn’t today, it wasn’t our daily bread.
  • There is very little privacy here in the PICU so that the nurses can see us at all times. So Ian renamed it the I.C.U.Pee
  • We got them to change a twice a day shot to an IV! Lovenox. He was not LOVEN it! Now nurses know that kids who hate shots, who are not planning on going home, can have that medicine through their IV!

Day 17 Joys:

Randy and I made a conscious choice to continue offering and leading the monthly nights of extended worship and prayer at Crossroads. Of course we understand the need to cut back on some of Randy’s worship responsibilities since school has begun. But when we thought about our need to take Refuge in the Lord, we couldn’t resist. So many of the Psalms describe how to take Refuge in the Shadow of God’s wings. Psalm 57 “Be merciful to me, O God, for in You my soul takes refuge, in the shadow of your wings, I will take refuge, till the storms of destruction pass by…I will sing and make melody!…I will give thanks to you, O Lord,  among the peoples;  I will sing praises to you among the nations.” The picture of worshiping God in the midst of our distress is given over and over in the Psalms. (Ps. 59:16-17, Ps. 61:2-4, Ps. 63:1-8, Ps. 73:28, Ps. 77, etc!) It’s not always pretty, but it’s life giving and safe.

All that to say, we had made the decision quite late to keep our August night of worship. There was little time to invite people so we only expected the worship team, and our family.  When I arrived to Crossroads I was overwhelmed by all the people who had shown up to worship the Lord with us, intercede for us, and come along side with us. I think Vivian had something to do with that, and the love and prayers of so many. My cup overflowed.

Please join us the last Saturday of each month at Crossroads Community Church, 6-7:30 pm. 25591 Pala Dr. Mission Viejo. It’s for everyone. It’s for any need.It’s for you.

Day 15 Joy: Star Struck!

  • Kristen Wiig came to meet Ian and signed off his tally sheet! “Counting up to heart transplant! Day 15!” youtu.be/MkEY2ZcpFpc
  • Joni Eareckson Tada sent us a letter celebrating our listing!

    Dear Jill…

    Just a quick note to let you know how happy we are that Ian has been approved for the transplant and by this time, Lord-willing, you’ve received a positive reply from the insurance company! This has been an incredibly long, rigorous journey for not only your son, but the whole family… and yet, you have kept your bright smile and courageous trust in the Lord Jesus. THAT is quite a testimony. We will be looking forward to your next updates…

     Thanks, too, for those wonderful photos you sent via email, and your kind invitation for me to come to speak at JEMS at Mount Hermon in the future. I so appreciate your invite and, oh, how I wish Ken and I could respond positively to every invitation, but as you know (being a mother of a kid like Ian), disability comes with limitations. Nevertheless, Jill, you HONOR us with your invite!

    I read this quote this morning from William Law and thought of you: “Receive every inward and outward trouble, every disappointment… darkness and desolation with both your hands, as a blessed occasion of dying to self, and entering into a fuller fellowship with your Savior.  Look at no inward or outward trouble in any other view; reject every other thought about it; and then every kind of trial and distress will become the blessed day of your prosperity.  That state is best, which exercises the highest faith in, and fullest resignation to God.”

     Many blessings and prayers your way… Joni

UCSF Days: Wendy Toda walked me through a couple color sessions during our week in SF. We were in crisis and had sent Micah and Kaiya home with Leanne. I missed them so much, my heart hurt. This one was from a session called “Melted Crayon.” She said, “Think about the most beautiful sunset you’ve ever seen. Think about the most beautiful field of flowers you’ve ever seen. Think about the most beautiful thing you’ve ever seen and fill the canvas with those colors.” I wasn’t supposed to paint anything but melted colors. This is what I made.  (Now, if she had said, “handsome” I might have mixed my colors and made Micah. I missed them both!) This is what I needed to see…

IMG_8474

I’ve taken this painting with me to every hospital stay to keep my Sunshine close to me.

Of course, I’ve had so many Joys in the journey already. I didn’t know to write them all. God keeps answering prayers and meeting needs even before they are on my tongue. He’s used all of you, over and over again. A meal at just the right time. A letter. A gift. A good joke. A scripture. A hug. Watching our kids in the hospital and at home. Driving two hours for a half an hour visit! Parking money.  Chicken Eggs. Chicken Supplies. Gluten free food. A card game. It helps to count our blessings in these Shadow Lands. They are like rays of Sunshine that shine extra bright in the dark!

 

 

Leave a Reply

